選擇語言:

Lionbridge 機器翻譯追蹤工具 (Lionbridge Machine Translation Tracker)

鄭重介紹我們的評估工具,協助您挑選最符合需求的機器翻譯引擎

簡介

機器翻譯 (MT) 問世已有多年,但一直到近幾年,它的進展才突飛猛進。隨著企業需要以多種不同語言創作更多內容,他們也更加看好機器翻譯這項技術,以協助他們在日漸全球化的世界觸及更多客群。

想部署機器翻譯的企業,有四種基本策略可以選擇:

公用 MT

使用 Google 或 Bing 這類的翻譯服務。這些服務可供任何人隨時隨地免費使用,但不提供像是自訂術語這類進階功能,同時資料可能也會被用於其他服務。

內部 MT

採用這種作法的企業,必須在他們的 IT 環境中部署機器翻譯伺服器。這麼做雖然安全性高,但所費不貲,部署與管理也非常複雜,而且需要持續不斷地維護。

雲端 MT

使用方式類似公用 MT,不過伺服器是在雲端代管,而且可以建立公司專屬的執行個體,所有與服務分享的資訊都會受到嚴密保護,不會與第三方分享。這類服務能提供自訂術語和其他便利功能,但往往會導致企業必須仰賴特定一家廠商,而且也難以在不同語言組合間得到最佳的機器翻譯品質。

業內最佳 MT

可以管理多個機器翻譯引擎的單一平台,能提供一套集中管理的自訂術語、簡易好用的介面,並可針對不同的語言組合與內容類型選擇最合適的引擎。

無論採取什麼策略,如果沒有適當的資料與經驗,往往就很難挑選出合適的引擎。Lionbridge 在機器翻譯領域耕耘超過 20 年,具有豐富經驗,更在機器翻譯技術方面收集了大量的語言和品質資料,能協助客戶做出最適當的選擇。本網頁將針對最常見的語言組合,提供機器翻譯引擎表現的基本資訊,進而協助企業做出最適合自己內容的選擇。

想進一步了解不同類型的機器翻譯技術嗎?請參閱我們的部落格文章:機器翻譯詞彙解釋

Lionbridge 機器翻譯追蹤工具的原理

Lionbridge 是採用編輯更動程度,又名反向編輯距離 (inverse edit distance),來進行計分。編輯更動程度評量的是機器與人工翻譯之間的差異,其原理是計算編譯人員對機器翻譯所更動的字符 (亞洲語言) 或單字 (歐美語言) 的數量,再以這些數字做為機器翻譯的衡量標準。分數越高,代表品質越好。

在我們評估的四個機器翻譯引擎中,以 Google 與 Bing 神經機器翻譯 (NMT) 在翻譯多種語言及一般內容上的表現最好。然而,若以特定的語言組合來看,較專業化的引擎表現就更好:DeepL 翻譯德文時表現最優異,而 Amazon 則在翻譯中文上居冠。

評估整體 MT 表現
MT 引擎之比較
時間

表 1:比較主流機器翻譯引擎在德文、俄羅斯文、西班牙文和中文方面的平均品質。

各個機器翻譯引擎的表現會因為許多因素而不同,例如來源內容的品質、來源與目標語言、主題,以及機器翻譯引擎是否經過訓練等。在截至 2021 年 1 月的整體品質比較中,Google NMT 在所有語言的長期表現仍舊居於領先地位。而過去 12 個月來品質分數變動最大的 MT 引擎則是 Bing 及 Amazon,品質上有明顯的起伏。

不同語言的 MT 品質評估 - 反向編輯距離
在下拉式選單中選取德文、西班牙文、俄文或中文
時間

表 2:比較主流機器翻譯引擎在特定語言組合方面的平均品質。

有些機器翻譯引擎在特定語言組合的表現特別優異。就長期的語言品質表現數據來看,最好的德文 MT 引擎是 DeepL,而 Amazon 則在中文上大幅領先所有對手。不過在其他主要語言上,大多還是 Google 居冠,Bing 則緊追在後。

不同領域的表現
在下拉式選單中選取一種領域
時間

表 3:比較主流機器翻譯引擎在特定領域方面的平均品質。

我們的研究顯示,在汽車與機械領域方面,未經訓練的 DeepL MT 引擎在各主流語言上的表現都優於其他引擎。在電子商務和零售領域方面,Amazon 似乎是最佳首選。不過,神經機器翻譯引擎也可以針對特定語言和產業進行訓練,進一步改善品質。

如要了解機器翻譯的未來趨勢或其他深入分析,歡迎閱讀我們的「語言技術的未來」部落格文章:機器翻譯的未來

免責聲明

  1. Lionbridge 每個月會評估一次本報告中的機器翻譯引擎。
  2. 此處提供的資料僅為說明示意之用,每個案例都應個別處理與評估。
  3. 本報告是根據 Lionbridge 機器翻譯團隊預先挑選的來源資料所製作。每個機器翻譯引擎的每種語言組合都是使用相同的來源資料,因此得以比較其表現。
  4. 本報告的製作過程中並未使用任何客戶資料。

與我們聯絡

Lionbridge Machine Translation Tracker

Introducing our assessment tool to help you choose the best machine translation engine for your needs

Introduction

Machine translation (MT) has been around for many years, but in recent years has been evolving at an exponential rate. As companies produce ever-growing amounts of content in different languages, they have come to see machine translation as a promise of extended reach in an increasingly globalized world. 

Companies seeking to deploy machine translation have four basic strategies to explore: 

Public MT

Use of services like Google or Bing Translate. Those services are readily available to everyone at no cost however they do not have more advanced functionalities like terminology customization and data might be re-used in other services. 

On-Premise MT

This approach assumes company will deploy machine translation server in their IT environments. This is a very secure, but comes at a significant cost, is complex to deploy and manage and requires ongoing maintenance.

Cloud MT

Works similar like the Public MT and is hosted in the cloud but creates a company dedicated instance. Any data shared with the service is tightly secured and not shared with 3rd parties. It provides additional capabilities around terminology customization and other benefits but can result in vendor lock in and less then optimal quality of machine translation across multiple language pairs. 

Best of Breed MT

Is a single platform that allows to manage multiple machine translation engines, providing single layer of terminology customization, easy to manage interface and ability to choose best engines for different language pairs and types of content. 

No matter which strategy they choose - picking the right engine may be hard without proper data and experience. Lionbridge is an expert in machine translation with more than two decades of experience and has gathered a large volume of linguistic and quality data about machine translation technology that can help make the right choice. This webpage will provide basic information about performance of machine translation engines for the most common language pairs to help companies make best choices for their content. 

Want to learn more about different types of machine translation technologies? Check out our blog Machine Translation in Translation.

Lionbridge Machine Translation Tracker Methodology

Lionbridge uses inverse edit distance as a scoring method. Edit distance is a measure of discrepancy among translations that uses the number of characters (for Asian languages) or words (Western language) that need to be changed by a human post editor as a measure of quality. The higher the metric the better the quality.

Out of the four machine translation engines we assessed, Google and Bing NMT demonstrate the best performance across different language pairs and for general content. However, in certain language combinations, more specialized engines perform best: DeepL has the strongest performance in German and Amazon best translates Chinese.

Evaluating Overall MT Performance

Chart 1: Comparison of average quality of top Machine Translation engines for German, Russian, Spanish and Chinese. 

Each machine translation engine performs differently depending on number of factors, like the quality of the source content, the source language and target languages, subject matter and if the machine translation engine was trained. In overall quality comparison, as of January 2021, Google NMT is still leading in long-term performance for all languages. Bing and Amazon are the MT engines that have experienced highest fluctuations in their quality scores over last 12 months, with significant spikes in quality.

Per Language Pair Quality

Chart 2: Comparison of average quality of top Machine Translation engines for specific language pairs.

Some machine translation engines excel at certain language pairs. Looking at long term language quality performance data, the best MT engine for German was DeepL, while Amazon has distanced all the competition for Chinese. Google has been in the lead for most of the other top languages, closely followed by Bing. 

Per Domain Performance

Chart 3: Comparison of average quality of top Machine Translation engines for specific domain.

Our research has shown that for Automotive and Machinery domain, untrained DeepL MT engine was consistently best performing engine for top evaluated languages. Amazon appeared to be best choice for the e-commerce and retail sectors. Neural machine translation engines can also be trained in language for a certain industry that would further improve quality. 

For more insights and future trends about machine translation, read our Future of Language Tech blog post – Future of Machine Translation.

Disclaimer

  1. Machine Translation engines in this report are assessed monthly by Lionbridge.
  2. The data provided is for illustration purposes and each case should be treated and assessed individually.
  3. This report is generated based on source data preselected by Lionbridge Machine Translation teams. The same source data is submitted to every machine translation engine and language pair each time, making comparisons between translation engines possible.
  4. No customer data has been used in the generation of the report.

Contact Us